Photoshop Ad

Introduction

Pthotoshop…. Will than mean I would be able to edit all of my pictures now and hide the face break outs and cut out random people from the background?

Those were my first thoughts as my teacher announced that we will work with Prhotoshop 🙂

I think this program is pretty easy, but it will take time to get the essentials for sure. I think I start getting used to Adobe, but each of the programs has slight differences.

Photoshop Ad

So, this time I was working on creating an ad for a mop. My target audience is single females, 25-34 years old, who has Associates and Bachelor degree with income of $15,000 to 39,00, and who consume media through TV and blogs.

Single girls always want to be pretty, but we know that’s not how they wake up in the morning. Sometimes I think of a messy hair as a mop head 🙂 So that’s what gave me an idea for my ad.

For this project we were suppose to combine real with unreal, so we can practice the Photoshop skills. And, I feel like unusuall things catch the attention quicker as something cliche and generic.

Understanding the source of media consumption gave me the outline for ad sizes. For TV Static Ad the sizes will be 1920px by 1080px (150-300 resolution/dpi) and for Web/Blog Static Ad – 300px by 250px (72 resolution/dpi).

I went to pixabay.com to get free picture. I found one that was made by RyanMcGuire and I thought it was just perfect!

Find a mop head picture was the next step. That was the one I found.

Color

I loved the color scheme of the first picture and I decided to stick with it.

White color is always associated with purity along with blue and grey giving the meaning of the
balance.  Those colors are often associate with the Scandinavian theme which has been
very popular lately.

Typography

So for my slogan “Your floors don’t have to be as messy as your morning hair” I chose Nueva STD Italics Typeface that is Serif type. I chose Italics because it has this angle and it gives the impression that the letters are also blown
by the air from the hair drier.

First draft

So I cut the mop out of picture and layered it over the picture with the girl with messy hair. I also had to rotate the mop so it could be on the same side.

I went with Libman company logo, because thier motto is “Embrace life’s messes.” So, it all worked together.

Everything seemed good, but the mop got lost on the the light background. So I decided to make the background darker to make my point. I made the logo smaller and added the company’s motto.

Does that look better? I think it does! So this size of the ad will be good for a TV ad.

This one will fit perfect into the blog.

Conclusion

I realize one thing! Think crazy! Even when you think that your idea might sound silly, go for it. Baceuse it might catch the attention of your audience righ away. None of us wants to see what they have already seen before.

Never ever forget the basic principles of design. Colors, typography, alligment. It all matters. Notice how I placed slogan on the same level with the hair dryer? Yes, it works. Let those small things do their magic!

Make your objects stand out, it’s ok to exaggerate sometimes. Always be open to a critique.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

